United Nations Headquarters Duty Stations

The United Nations has four headquarter duty stations being New York City, Geneva, Vienna, and Nairobi:

UN Headquarters New York

The United Nations is an International Organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter. Due to the powers vested in its Charter and its unique international character, the United Nations can take action on the issues confronting humanity in the 21st century, such as peace and security, climate change, sustainable development, human rights, disarmament, terrorism, humanitarian and health emergencies, gender equality, governance, food production, and more.

The UN also provides a forum for its members to express their views in the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, and other bodies and committees. By enabling dialogue between its members, and by hosting negotiations, the Organization has become a mechanism for governments to find areas of agreement and solve problems together.

The UN's Chief Administrative Officer is the Secretary-General.

Get further Information on the UN’s main organs, secretariat, funds, programmes, specialized agencies, history, charter etc.




The United Nations system includes a large number of intergovernmental organizations, specialized agencies, programmes, funds, offices and research institutes as well as related organizations. Two thirds of the activities of the United Nations system take place in Geneva, making it a key centre of international co-operation and multilateral negotiation.

Around 9,500 staff work for the United Nations family in Geneva, which is the largest concentration of United Nations personnel in the world. They are active in many of the major fields of work of the United Nations including health, labour, intellectual property, human rights. humanitarian action and disaster relief, economic, trade and development activities, disarmament efforts, science and technology as well as research and training.



The United Nations Office at Vienna (UNOV) was established in 1979 as third United Nations Headquarters. More than 4,000 employees from over 110 countries work for the Vienna-based UN organizations. UNOV performs representation and liaison functions with permanent missions to the United Nations, the host Government and intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations in Vienna. The Director-General of UNOV represents the Secretary-General in dealings with the host country and diplomatic missions in Vienna.



The United Nations Office at Nairobi (UNON), the UN headquarters in Africa, was established by the General Assembly in 1996. The office is headed by a Director-General, at the Under-Secretary-General level, serves as the representative office of the Secretary-General in Nairobi and performs representation and liaison functions with permanent missions, the host-country and other Governments, and intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations in Nairobi. In addition, UNON facilitates cooperation between the United Nations and regional organizations and provides administrative and other support services to the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat).