9 Developing Countries to Present Climate Action via “Facilitative Sharing of Views”

At the next round of UN climate change talks in Bonn in June of this year, 9 developing countries will present their activities to curb and reduce greenhouse emissions before 2020, their national inventories, and the support they have been receiving to do so.

Government representatives are encouraged to put questions in advance of the June meeting by 19 May.

Countries will be sharing their achievements, innovative climate actions and experience in identifying and overcoming their needs and challenges to implement those actions as well as acknowledging the support received through North-South and South-South cooperation in a process called the “Facilitative sharing of views” (FSV).

The nine developing countries that will be presenting at the FSV workshop on 19 June in Bonn are Armenia, Brazil, Nigeria, Republic of Korea, South Africa, Thailand, The Republic of North Macedonia, Uruguay and Vietnam.

Transparency is a key element of effective national and international climate action and it covers not only reporting on efforts to curb greenhouse gases, but also building resilience to the inevitable impacts of climate change and the means of implementation such as finance, technology transfer and capacity-building.

The process allows all 197 Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change to ask questions to the Parties undergoing FSV, based on the national reports and their summary reports.  This question period starts on 19 April and ends on 19 May 2019.

Pre-2020 action of developing countries builds the foundation to the enhanced Transparency Framework under the Paris Climate Change Agreement.  This includes the country reports, technical analysis reports and FSV.

See all News

Facebook Twitter Google+